District Profile

Dehradun divided in six blocks viz Chakrata, Kalsi, Vikas Nagar, Sahaspur, Raipur and Doiwala. The administrative set up comprises of six Tehsils, namely Dehradun, Chakrata, Tuni, Kalsi, Vikas Nagar and Rishikesh and six Community Development blocks. It has 403 Gram Panchayats, 714 habitation revenue villages (out of 735) and 11 towns. Nearly 66% of villages have populations of less than 500. The district has 5.7% of the state’s geographical area and 17% of its population (16.98 lakhs, as per 2011 census). The growth rate of district Dehradun is 17.9 per thousand having significantly higher proportion of urban settlement (56 percent) than the state as a whole (24%). The district has 21.2% of scheduled caste and scheduled tribe population. Little more than half (51 percent) of the total population of the state are living below poverty line. Almost 90 percent households have electricity facility, 76.9% households have access to safe sources of drinking water and 71.2% households have toilet facilities.

Census 2011 indicates a sex ratio of 902 (Census 2011) which is much lower than the state, Uttarakhand (963). The lower sex ratio in the district could probably be due to sex-selective (male) immigration for enhanced employment and educational opportunities. With respect to the literacy rate, the district scenario is better compared to the state as a whole. The overall literacy rate in Dehradun is 85.24% with higher male literates (90.32 %) than females (79.22%).

Close Move